facebook twitter Google+ youtube podcast rss

Dirge - Timelines - Figure

Part 4 of the Timelines reviews focuses back on the box set jets by looking at Dirge.

Dirge

"Talk all you want, loser. The only sound you make that I'll listen to is a death rattle."

From the tech specs: "Dirge always had a mean side, but with his new lease on life his desire to end the lives of others has grown. After all, now he knows for certain that there's nothing there when you go offline. He thinks about it a lot, that nothingness. Every time he blasts another living creature into atoms, it gives his turbine blades a little thrill to imagine that life just blinking out and being gone forever.

Strength - 8

Intelligence - 8

Speed - 8

Endurance - 6

Rank - 5

Courage - 4

Fireblast - 8

Skill - 9

Alt Mode

Dirge is an exact repaint of Ramjet. He retains his G1 paint scheme of blue with gold and gold accents. Unfortunately, his wing makeup is also exact to Ramjet's. It's a shame they couldn't give the fuselage tailfins to him that he had in G1, but nothing's perfect.

Dirge also suffers the same fate as Thrust and Ramjet... the visible head in alt mode. With the head pointing on the floor, it's not a big issue. His transformation is identical to Ramjet's.

Robot Mode

Dirge has bits of red showing up in robot mode. Otherwise, blue is by far the primary color with some gold on the wings and black bits on the limbs. Like Thrust, Dirge has G1 sticker facsimiles in various spots.

Articulation is like any of the other seekers, meaning stiff and notched. However, patience will prevail in getting some good poses out of him. While this is a great add to the seeker set, people will still lament at not having the ideal wing set up. Perhaps someone good at resin heating can pull that off.


Added: July 4th 2007
Reviewer: Blitzwing
Score:
Hits: 7208
Language: english
  

[ Back to Reviews Index ]

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by Transformer1973 on 2007-07-09 02:35:05
My Score:
I still don''t get the "official explanation" that wings are more expensive to resculpt than heads. There is far more detail in a face than there is in a wing.

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by kalron on 2007-07-07 09:13:54
My Score:
Blitzwing, I started taking shots of my process. Maybe I''ll submit a review or guide or something when they are complete.

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by Blitzwing on 2007-07-05 21:54:04
My Score:
Kalron, I''d be interested how that turns out. Do you plan to bend the wings for Dirge so they''re G1 accurate?

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by kalron on 2007-07-05 20:44:58
My Score:
I just purchased 3 Ramjets from TRU that was in over stock at buy 2 get one free. I plan on repainting and utilizing some of the resin casting equip that I have available to attempt to finish out my Seekers. Figured out that the smaller folding wing on the Ramjet mold will pop-out and you can easily insert a Starscream/Skywarp wing (I hope to cast out of resin) Just need to figure out how to replace a Ramjet head with a Starscream/Skywarp head.

Also picked up an Armorhide to repaint into Huffer. Damn these expensive BotCons. But with a little work I''ll save about $200.

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by Primal-Convoy on 2007-07-05 20:41:20
My Score:
If you need to "custom" a figure like this, for the price that was asked for, then it simply isnt worth getting. Nothing short of a complete and correct rendition of this character should be expected for this overpriced Hasbro greed-box to have been offered in the first place.

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by Husky74 on 2007-07-05 18:18:52
My Score:
After seeing the movie, i''m seriously considering splurging on this set just to complete my classics collection. I rarely spend over a hundred dollars anymore on transformers figures, and this will be my first set to buy that''s so expensive but oh so worth it. Ebay...HERE I COME!!!

Dirge - Timelines - Figure
Posted by stryderprime on 2007-07-04 21:35:35
My Score:
He just look awesome...plain and simple

  



ENI
About
Entertainment News International (ENI) is the popular culture network for fans all around the world. Get the scoop on all the popular comics, games, movies, toys, and more every day!
Sites
Action Figures
Entertainment
Marvel
 
Podcasts
Star Wars
Transformers
Links
Support
© 2017 Entertainment News International - All images, trademarks, logos, video, brands and images used on this website are registered trademarks of their respective companies and or owners. All Rights Reserved. Data has been shared for news reporting purposes only. All content sourced by fans, online websites, and or other fan community sources. Entertainment News International is not responsible for reporting errors, inaccuracies, omissions, and or other liablities related to news shared here. We do our best to keep tabs on infringements. If some of your content was shared by accident. To have it removed right away, please [ Contact Us ].