Transformers Daily News Source for Transformers 5, Titans Return, Robots in Disguise, Combiner Wars, Generations, Third Party, G1, Beast Wars, Reviews, Comics, Games & More Than Meets the Eye!
TFormers Transformers News and Reviews
facebook twitter Pinterest Tumblr Google+ youtube podcast rss

Cybertronian Mode Ironhide - Animated - Figure

Toys R Us is blessing (or for some, cursing) Animated fans with one more go of exclusive figures. This time around, we get the much anticipated Rodimus Minor figure, as well as Ratchet's 'twin', Ironhide.

Bio

"Yee-haw!"

The Autobot army has never seen anyone tougher than Ironhide. Back in boot camp, the trainees considered it good fun to take their best shot at denting his armor. No one ever could. Now, on battlefields across the galaxy, Ironhide uses his ultra-hard armor and fighting skills to battle Decepticons wherever they appear

Galactic Powers And Abilities

Able to transmute his armor into an indestructible alloy
Enjoys playing practical jokes on other young Autobots
Has plenty of weapons, but prefers a good fist fight

Robot Mode

Ironhide is a mostly repainted version of Cybertronian Mode Ratchet. The big difference, of course, is with the head, which is completely retooled. I imagined him having a slightly bigger head, though. The one he has seems a bit... stumpy. At least the blue piping is there.

There's an air of laziness with the Ironhide figure. Even the instructions show Ratchet, only changing the title of the instructions. The hammer attachments for his hands still exists, as well as the provision for the EMP generator.

Articulation

Feet:Pin hinge, 90 degree downward bend (technical)
Knees:Pin hinge, 90 degree rearward bend, pinned above knee for unlimited lower leg rotation
Hips:Ball joint, 180 degree bend w/90 degree spread
Waist:Stationary
Shoulders:Ball joint, unlimited rotation w/90 degree spread, pinned below shoulder for unlimited rotation
Elbows:Double pin hinge, 180 degree bend
Hands:Pinned for unlimited rotation
Head:Ball joint, unlimited rotation

A solid figure, overall, and not plagued with the loose elbows that my Ratchet had before.

Transformation

Identical to Ratchet.

Alt Mode

In his alt mode, there are no mold changes. The paint job is a rather drab orange with some yellow and black accents. The roof rack and clearance lights remain.

Even with Ironhide, I can't bring myself past the unrefined parts of the alt mode. The side profile especially looks unfinished. Fortunately the robot mode more than makes up for the shortcomings.

Verdict

Robot Mode: - All the highlights of Ratchet, now with a new head.
Alt Mode: - All the shortcomings of Ratchet, with a dull paint job to match.
Overall: - A nice exclusive. Worth it for the robot mode. As a bonus, I can see many heads being taken for a kitbashed Earth mode.
Class: Deluxe
Price:$12.99, Toys R Us Exclusive

ReviewerBlitzwing  
DateAugust 27th 2010  
Score 8 stars (8 out of 10)  
Reads8666
LinkCybertronian Mode Ironhide via Animated Database  


Images



« Back to Reviews Index



last 10 shown - scroll to view more   TFormers Member Comments
Jason X
2010-09-01
2:33 am

Good as any I suppose. 
Liege Evilmus
2010-08-30
6:27 pm

I really like this mold. I wish it had articulated hands and knees that don't flop forward, otherwise though I'm not complaining. I always saw Ironhide and Ratchet as simple figures and these robots deliver on that. I would like to see a couple more paint aps on Ironhide, but for me he fit... read more 
Nguyen_Dragon
2010-08-30
2:02 pm

He is Armorhide... 
Jason X
2010-08-29
1:07 am

So if "Bulkhead" is "Ironhide" in Japan (I've said it before and I'll say it again: Bulkhead will NEVER be Ironhide to me) does this mean this guy is "Bulkhead" over there? 
ClockWorkMecha
2010-08-28
11:39 pm

Hey Bugstomper, if you happen to have another TRU or two within driving distance, check them out, it's what I do and it has paid off from time to time(but I'm fairly sure you have thought of that...). And in an unrelated note: I was playing with the Iron figure and thought "If Hasbro ... read more 
bugstomper1973
2010-08-28
9:31 pm

Then you sir are blessed! I continue to make trips back to my Toys R Us every Thursday(the day after they typically get their one truck for the week) and they are still sitting on the same old Ratchet peg warmers! This next week if they don't have him I'm going online! 
TRANS-lego-MaN
2010-08-28
6:57 pm

i found him and Rodimus yesterday and their both great figures 
knuclear200x
2010-08-28
5:25 pm

Makes me wonder if i REALLY should have spent money on Ratchet. i still cant find arcee when i feel like reenacting that scene 
ClockWorkMecha
2010-08-28
3:22 pm

I thought I would have to do the same, but I found them both, and in good numbers/stock at a couple of TRU's. I don't see theses two being nearly as hard to get as Arcee. 
bugstomper1973
2010-08-28
1:00 pm

Really?! First you bless us with a review of Rodimus and now this!!! Curse you Toys R Us! Curse you!!! I'm gonna wind up having to pay tooth and nail to some online secondary retailer in order to acquire this latest round! 
»  Read ALL Forums Posts & Replies
»  Post a Comment on This Story!  (membership required)












SDCC 2017 Transformers News!


Custom Transformers Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse Car Can Be Yours!

Lost Light Issue #10 Full Comic Book Preview

Shockwave Joins Transformers: Forged to Fight - Developer Q&A and More

RADIO FREE CYBERTRON

Facebook @TFormers

Twitter @TFormers



ENI
About
Entertainment News International (ENI) is the popular culture network for fans all around the world. Get the scoop on all the popular comics, games, movies, toys, and more every day!
Sites
Action Figures
Entertainment
Marvel
 
Podcasts
Star Wars
Transformers
Links
Support
© 2017 Entertainment News International - All images, trademarks, logos, video, brands and images used on this website are registered trademarks of their respective companies and or owners. All Rights Reserved. Data has been shared for news reporting purposes only. All content sourced by fans, online websites, and or other fan community sources. Entertainment News International is not responsible for reporting errors, inaccuracies, omissions, and or other liablities related to news shared here. We do our best to keep tabs on infringements. If some of your content was shared by accident. To have it removed right away, please [ Contact Us ].