Transformers Daily News Source for Transformers 5, Titans Return, Robots in Disguise, Combiner Wars, Generations, Third Party, G1, Beast Wars, Reviews, Comics, Games & More Than Meets the Eye!
TFormers Transformers News and Reviews
facebook twitter Pinterest Tumblr Google+ youtube podcast rss

Dirge - Generations - Figure

Thrust

Fans can now rejoice. After 4yrs of waiting, the original "conehead" set has now been released to the masses. The final piece of the puzzle comes with Dirge, who unlike the BotCon release, remains true to the 1985 original.

Bio

There is a certain sub-harmonic frequency that triggers the fear response in most living things across the galaxy. Dirge has used this frequency for centuries, tuning his engines and his vocal processors to generate it. Fear accompanies him like a dark cloud, even his fellow Decepticons feel it. He enjoys the feeling of power he gets, watching other robots quaking in fear at his presence, or felling at the sound of his engines.


Strength     
Intelligence
Speed
Endurance
Rank
Courage
Fireblast
Skill

Alt Mode

The Generations mold is definitely more accurate to the original G1 look versus the Botcon 2007 release. Almost all the details are present, including the striping on the main wings, the prominent Decepticon logos and the deep blue paint job on the fuselage.

There's no comparison between the Generations and the BotCon versions. Whereas the BotCon version used black outlining to embolden the figure. The Generations version goes with the clean, original look for points. It works.

Alt Mode Specs

Length: 6.13in/155.7mm
Wingspan:5in/127mm
Height:1.38in/35.1mm
Wheels: 4, molded. 2 front are retractable.
Detailed cockpit:N/A

Transformation

Identical to the Classics Ramjet figure with one difference. The winglets in front also flip 180 degrees.

Robot Mode

Interestingly enough, there's very little difference between the BotCon and Generations units outside of the wing design. The basic color scheme is virtually identical. The only main difference is with the head. Where the BotCon version was all black, the Generations version uses a gray head. Not only does it look better, but it's more anime correct.

As with the other seekers, there are no other changes. Articulation is still blocky, which has always been the case. With this figure, the Seeker saga can almost come to a close. Only Thundercracker needs to make an entrance. Now, how about some more Triplechangers?

Articulation

Feet:Stationary (technical)
Knees: Pin hinge, 90 degree bend. Pinned above knees for unlimited lower leg rotation.
Hips: Ball joint, 90 degree bend and 90 degree spread
Waist:Stationary
Shoulders:Dual pin hinges, unlimited rotation and 90 degree spread. Pinned below shoulder for unlimited arm rotation
Elbows:Pin hinge, 90 degree bend
Hands:Pin hinge, 90 degree inward bend
Head:Stationary (technical)

Robot Mode Specs

Height:558n/139.7mm
Width:3.88in/98.6mm (6in/152.4mm including wings)
Depth:1.5in/38.1mm
Supplied accessories:(2) launchers w/missiles

Verdict

Alt Mode: Near carbon copy of the original 1985 mold.
Robot Mode:Articulation is unchanged. That is to say, mediocre.
Overall:How about that? All 6 seekers have now hung on the pegs.

Class:Deluxe

MSRP:$12

ReviewerBlitzwing  
DateOctober 30th 2010  
Score 9 stars (9 out of 10)  
Reads9035
LinkDirge via Generations Database  


Image Gallery 3


« Back to Reviews Index



last 10 shown - scroll to view more   TFormers Member Comments
Heavyassault
2010-11-06
7:42 pm

Nope.Mines good. 
Lord_Onslaught
2010-11-06
7:33 pm

Anyone else notice on their Dirge that the back of the legs are already splitting? Other then that, my Dirge is great 
Heavyassault
2010-11-06
7:25 pm

Got my Dirge yesterday.Mine has some damage to the face,suttle.Gives him more personality. Its great now.I have a Seeker army.The 2 different Screamers,Thrust with 1 to repaint,Ramjet henkei and hasbro version,Acidstorm with 1 to repaint,Skywarp,Thundercracker(crap ass henkei). 
Jason X
2010-10-31
7:42 pm

Yeah, I was short on cash and had to pick between Starscream and Acidstorm one day. I had to go with Starscream. I only came across Acidstorm one time after that and would've picked him up then but my younger boy picked that to spend his allowance on so I went with the Universe Sideswipe I'... read more 
formerly nortagem
2010-10-31
7:03 pm

Well, we've already seen this guy: (link) ...which arguably should have been TC instead, but that's for another rant...so it's possible we'd see some of the others, like Sunstorm. Damn, I just sold a few MISB Classic Ramjet's a few months ago, guys (I bought them for possib... read more 
Jason X
2010-10-31
3:57 pm

Missed Ramjet myself but love Thrust. I can't wait to score this guy. This is one mold Hasbro can keep on using. I hope we get to see Sunstorm before they're done with it. 
Broketimus Prime
2010-10-31
1:00 pm

The Botcon version of TC is way superior to the Henkei. It was terribly loose and the cannons fit very loose in the arm pegs. Waist at $50-$75. But this dirge is awesome! I sold my botcon when the Henkei was released, and I'm now thinking of selling the Henkei since I have the ... read more 
Prime_Reborn
2010-10-31
10:32 am

I just got dirge not that long ago, so far he is on of my favorites of the generations line. Also i have to mention that the way the winglets are hinged, you can just lift them up an forward so the are still facing the same way in plane mode(the robot mode looks a lot better at least to me this way)... read more 
AnimatedPlastic
2010-10-31
4:44 am

Very glad to get him. I missed Ramjet. I hope they do a release of him again so I don't have to pay $30 for him. I am looking forward to seeing the MP Coneheads from iGear now. 
penguin_poet
2010-10-31
4:26 am

Thanks. For a bit, I thought I was going crazy. I'll keep my ears peeled for a US retail release of Thundercracker. 
»  Read ALL Forums Posts & Replies
»  Post a Comment on This Story!  (membership required)












SDCC 2017 Transformers News!


IDW's First Strike Issue 6 Full Comic Preview

IDW's First Strike Issue 6 Three Page iTunes Preview

Shockwave Joins Transformers: Forged to Fight - Developer Q&A and More

RADIO FREE CYBERTRON

Facebook @TFormers

Twitter @TFormers



ENI
About
Entertainment News International (ENI) is the popular culture network for fans all around the world. Get the scoop on all the popular comics, games, movies, toys, and more every day!
Sites
Action Figures
Entertainment
Marvel
 
Podcasts
Star Wars
Transformers
Links
Support
© 2017 Entertainment News International - All images, trademarks, logos, video, brands and images used on this website are registered trademarks of their respective companies and or owners. All Rights Reserved. Data has been shared for news reporting purposes only. All content sourced by fans, online websites, and or other fan community sources. Entertainment News International is not responsible for reporting errors, inaccuracies, omissions, and or other liablities related to news shared here. We do our best to keep tabs on infringements. If some of your content was shared by accident. To have it removed right away, please [ Contact Us ].